Marlon Wayans ‘New Film’ + Tayana Ali joins Second Generation Wayans on Upcoming Show

Marlon Wayans, of the legendary comic Wayans family, is back after a hiatus with a new film hitting the big screen in January 2013.  The flick is titled, “A Haunted House”, is created based upon spoofs of movies like Paranormal Activity, The Devil Inside, and other “found footage” style films.  Marlon stars alongside Essence Atkins and the film also showcases recognizable names such as, comedian Deray Davis, Affion Crocket, Cedric the Entertainer. 

Necole Bitchie’s LA correspondent Fallon Mercedes interviewed Marlon, the writer and producer of the film recently, and got the deets on the film, it being special to him, the family legacy, what scares him the most, and how he feels about Chilli stating he was the one that got away. Read the interview below:

It has been a couple years since you have been on the big screen and made us laugh. Tell us all about your new movie A Haunted House.
This movie is like Paranormal Activity, but if it happened to a black couple. If that movie actually happened to black people it would be a short movie, because we move. So we found a way to do it and have the movie be 90 minutes, and it would be funny, with a great cast. It’s a lot of fun. It’s basically about a couple, a girl moves in with a guy and a ghost comes between them.

In the movie, you are making fun of scary movies. Have you ever experienced any type of paranormal activities? What is Marlon Wayans afraid of?
I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of death, but I ain’t die yet. I’m scared of roaches, I’m scared of rats. I grew up with roaches, I’m allergic to them, but I’m still scared of them. There is something evil about them. I’m scared of diseases. I’m frightened the hell out of STDs. How does that happen? I’m basically a bitch ass.

Why is this movie special to you?
This movie is special to me because it’s the first thing that I did on my own, that I’ve written and produced. Like Janet, when she did the Control album, this movie is my work, representing me, my view on things. You know I came up in a great camp with my brothers and learned a lot so I applied everything that we learned over the years. This movie is something I am so proud of.

There’s talk of a reality show called “Second Generation” showcasing the Wayans family legacy.
Well that’s not a reality show its basically a TV show that I’m producing for BET and with my nephew Damien and my nephew Craig. Its about them (along with actor George Gore II) coming up under me and Shawn, Keenan and Damon’s shadows. So they are trying to pave their way. It’s kind of based on reality, but its scripted reality.

We have so much talent in my family, its beautiful to see the generations come up. If me, Shawn, Keenan were the Jackson Five well then these guys would be the three stooges. I’m excited for them.

Going to a comedy or scary movie you usually bring someone with you as a date to hold onto or laugh with it. Who should people bring to see this movie?
Bring anyone that wants to laugh. It’s great for a date because its stuff in there about relationships like a guy and a girl will laugh about the situations. Like when women start getting comfortable and start doing stuff like going to bed with your unsexy outfit, with the cream on the face and the ugly curlers, or like someone is in the bathroom with the door open. You know it is fun stuff that you kind of mock within a relationship.

Speaking of relationships, we had some girl talk with Chilli, and she told us you’re the one that got away. She should’ve married you. How do you feel about that?
Yeah, but then she would’ve never have dated Usher who got better abs, more fame and is on a first name basis with Bieber. See I have to call him Bieber. He probably calls him Justin or Jay or some cool sh-t like that. Oh, f-ck my life.

Check out the film’s trailer below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J50vA5VLR6k

“A Haunted House” hits theaters January 2013.

Source: www.necolebitchie.com

 

The Second Generation Wayans are grinding hard and working overtime to keep the family legacy alive and doing a great job at it I must add.  Damien Dante Wayans and Craig Wayans, as well as co-star George Gore II, are working on an upcoming BET Networks series titled Second Generation Wayans.  Self-Explanatory enough, the series is a hilarious and scripted family comedy.  The show will give the audience a glimpse into the lives of the new comers.  According to BET, as it turns out, being a Wayans isn’t all fun and games.  Viewers will see the good, the funny, and the ugly as the trio shines brightly ahead of the legacy that has been born and pave their own way.  Both Wayans and Gore, best known as Junior on Damon Wayans’s sitcom “My Wife and Kids”,  managed to scoop formerly known little Ashley Banks on “Fresh Prince of Bel-Air”, Tatyana Ali for the gig.  Tatyana has been in Atlanta filming BET’s Second Generation Wayans, which does air February 2013. 

Source: www.bet.com and www.hiphopnews24-7.com

2 thoughts on “Marlon Wayans ‘New Film’ + Tayana Ali joins Second Generation Wayans on Upcoming Show

    1. Thanks for your comment Ann. I hope one day soon that I am able to get the entire cast of My Wife and Kids together for a reunion. That would be great or better yet the Wayans family together for an interview. I would love to do that. Keep an eye out because that might just happen in the near future. Thanks for reading and checking out WhoGossips.

      ErickaLaShae, Publisher

Leave a Reply

