President Obama in Favor of Same-Sex Marriage

Looks like President Obama has broken a record that presidents prior to him would never break.  This issue of same-sex marriage has been brought up in previous presidential elections with Republican candidates strongly against it and Democratic candidates tip-toeing around it.  Even this year’s Republican candidate, Matt Romney, has already stated that he opposes it and even wants to take it as far as adding an amendment to the Constitution that forbids it. 

With Obama dishing his support behind this widely and controversial social topic he has brought the conversations voters opposed or in favor of same-sex marriage will be having. 

I personally am very much so in favor of same-sex marriage, just as much as I am bi-racial marriages, and every other discriminatory debate.  I believe in love and when it’s real it’s just real and no one should be able to determine who you can and cannot love, but you. 

Mr. President recently did an interview with ABC’S Robin Roberts and spoke on the issue stating:

I had hesitated on gay marriage in part because I thought that civil unions would be sufficient. I was sensitive to the fact that for a lot of people, the word marriage was something that invokes very powerful traditions and religious beliefs. I have to tell you that over the course of several years as I have talked to friends and family and neighbors when I think about members of my own staff who are in incredibly committed monogamous relationships, same-sex relationships, who are raising kids together, when I think about those soldiers or airmen or marines or sailors who are out there fighting on my behalf and yet feel constrained, even now that Don’t Ask Don’t Tell is gone, because they are not able to commit themselves in a marriage, at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married.

Source: www.necolebitchie.com

 Read more: President Obama Supports Same-Sex Marriages | Necole Bitchie.com

Watch Obama on the issue and the ABC video below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQGMTPab9GQ

Now let’s all just be hopeful that this recent decision doesn’t hinder him in the upcoming election.  It could go either way, but I’m hoping that just as he was in favor of same-sex marriage the voters will be in favor of Barack Obama.

Do you think President Obama’s same-sex marriage support will hurt his votes in the upcoming Presidential election?  Feel free to comment.  We want to hear your response.

I know one person that is in favor of Obama and just recently spoke out on our President’s defense, Jay-Z.  Shawn Carter spoke with CNN the day he announced his “Made In America” music festival in Philly Sept. 1st and 2nd, with 28 acts and Jay headlining himself. Jay expressed his feelings on the issue with CNN below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IbreZj8c00k&feature=related

Thanks ABC News for the picture and video from the Obama interview.

Leave a Reply

